Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1) by Sarah J. Maas
Published May 1nd 2018 by Bloomsbury
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★

Hope warms the coldest night.

Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve.

Yet even the festive atmosphere can’t keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated–scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.

Continue reading “Review: A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1) by Sarah J. Maas”

Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Young Adult

Review: The Brink of Darkness (The Edge of Everything #2) by Jeff Giles

The Brink of Darkness (The Edge of Everything #2) by Jeff Giles
Published August 1, 2018 by Bloomsbury Childrens
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★

Things have changed for seventeen-year-old Zoe ever since the otherworldly events that brought her together with the mysterious bounty hunter she calls X. In order to save Zoe and her family, X has done the unthinkable – he’s given up his freedom and returned to captivity in the Lowlands.

X is determined to break the lords’ hold on him once and for all, but being stripped of his power pushes him toward a darkness he’s never experienced and a past he’s never known. The secrets that surface could be the key to reuniting X and Zoe… or they could mean the destruction of everything they have been fighting for.

Gripping and full of heart, this epic continuation of Jeff Giles’ series – which already has rave reviews from New York Times bestselling authors Kami Garcia, Melissa de la Cruz, and Cassandra Clare, among others – will bring readers right to the edge of everything.

Continue reading “Review: The Brink of Darkness (The Edge of Everything #2) by Jeff Giles”

Book Reviews · Book vs Movie Reviews · Bookish Extras · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Book vs. Movie Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (Lara Jean #1) by Jenny Han

line break - upside down

15749186 Lana Condor in To All the Boys I've Loved Before (2018)

line break

Continue reading “Book vs. Movie Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (Lara Jean #1) by Jenny Han”

Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Series Reviews · Young Adult

Series Review: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

line break - upside down

23437156Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
22299763

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

line break

Continue reading “Series Review: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo”

Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas

Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas
Published September 6, 2016 by Bloomsbury
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★☆

In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire.

Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken.

His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica—the stronghold of the southern continent’s mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them.

But what they discover in Antica will change them both—and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.

Continue reading “Review: Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas”

Blog Tours · Book Reviews · Bookish Extras · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Blog Tour|Review: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Reading Tour Banner_v1_current

Save the Date by Morgan Matson
Published July 1 by Simon & Schuster
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★☆

Charlie Grant tries to keep her life as normal as possible. Hanging out with her best friend, pining for Jesse Foster – who she’s loved since she was twelve – and generally flying under the radar as much as she can.

But sometimes normal is just another word for stuck, and this weekend that’s all going to change. Not only will everyone be back home for her sister’s wedding, but she’s also juggling:

  • a rented dog that just won’t stop howling
  • an unexpectedly hot wedding-coordinator’s nephew
  • her favourite brother bringing home his HORRIBLE new girlfriend
  • fear that her parents’ marriage is falling apart
  • and the return to town of the boy she’s loved practically all her life…

Over the course of four days Charlie will learn there’s so much more to each member of her family than she imagined, even herself, and that maybe letting go of the things she’s been holding on tightest to can help her find what really keeps them together.

Continue reading “Blog Tour|Review: Save the Date by Morgan Matson”

Blog Tours · Bookish Extras

Blog Tour|Excerpt: Differently Normal by Tammy Robinson

Differently Normal by Tammy Robinson
Published January 30th by Hachette New Zealand Ltd.
RRP AUD $29.99

Every family has its issues.

For Maddy, life is all about routine. It has to be, to keep her autistic sister happy and healthy. With just Maddy and her mother as Bee’s full time carers, there’s no time in Maddy’s life for complications like friends, let alone a boyfriend.

So when Bee joins a new Riding for the Disabled stable and they meet Albert, the last thing on Maddy’s mind is falling in love.

Some things, she’s about to learn, are outside of our control.

Albert has resigned himself to always being a disappointment to his strict father. When he meets Maddy, he gets a glimpse of what being part of a family can be like, and of the tremendous sacrifices that people will make for the ones that they love.

Differently Normal is a spellbinding story of love that will leave you breathless.

Continue reading “Blog Tour|Excerpt: Differently Normal by Tammy Robinson”

Book Reviews · Children's · Fiction · Graphic Novels

Review: Night Shift by Debi Gliori

Night Shift by Debi Gliori
Published January 12th 2017 by Hot Key Books
RRP AUD $24.99
★★★★☆

A groundbreaking picture book on depression with stunning illustrations. 

With stunning black and white illustration and deceptively simple text, author and illustrator Debi Gliori examines how depression affects one’s whole outlook upon life, and shows that there can be an escape – it may not be easy to find, but it is there. Drawn from Debi’s own experiences and with a moving testimony at the end of the book explaining how depression has affected her and how she continues to cope, Debi hopes that by sharing her own experience she can help others who suffer from depression, and to find that subtle shift that will show the way out.

‘I have used dragons to represent depression. This is partly because of their legendary ability to turn a once fertile realm into a blackened, smoking ruin and partly because popular mythology shows them as monstrous opponents with a tendency to pick fights with smaller creatures. I’m not particularly brave or resourceful, and after so many years battling my beasts, I have to admit to a certain weariness, but I will arm-wrestle dragons for eternity if it means that I can help anyone going through a similar struggle.’

Continue reading “Review: Night Shift by Debi Gliori”

Blog Tours · Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Young Adult

Blog Tour|Review: Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard

Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard
Published February 8th 2018 by Macmillan Children’s Books
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★

When I was wild, you were steady . . .
Now you are wild – what am I? 

Eden McKinley knows she can’t count on much in this world, but she can depend on Bonnie, her solid, steady, straight-A best friend. So it’s a bit of a surprise when Bonnie runs away with the boyfriend Eden knows nothing about five days before the start of their GCSEs. Especially when the police arrive on her doorstep and Eden finds out that the boyfriend is actually their music teacher, Mr Cohn.

Sworn to secrecy and bound by loyalty, only Eden knows Bonnie’s location, and that’s the way it has to stay. There’s no way she’s betraying her best friend. Not even when she’s faced with police questioning, suspicious parents and her own growing doubts.

As the days pass and things begin to unravel, Eden is forced to question everything she thought she knew about the world, her best friend and herself.

Continue reading “Blog Tour|Review: Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford

The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford
Published December 27th 2017 by Pan Macmillan
RRP AUD $18.99

Sixteen-year-old Harper was once a rising star on the tennis court—until her coach dropped her for being “mentally weak.” Without tennis, who is she? Her confidence at an all-time low, she secretly turns to her childhood friend, next-door neighbor Jacob—who also happens to be her sister’s very recent ex-boyfriend. If her sister finds out, it will mean a family war.

But when Harper is taken on by a new coach who wants her to train with Colt, a cold, defensive, brooding young tennis phenom, she hits the court all the harder, if only to prove Colt wrong. But as the two learn to become a team, Harper gets glimpses of the vulnerable boy beneath the surface, the boy who was deeply scarred by his family’s dark and scandalous past. The boy she could easily find herself falling for.

As she walks a fine line between Colt’s secrets, her forbidden love, and a game that demands nothing but the best, Harper must decide between her past and her future and between two boys who send her head spinning. Is the cost of winning the game is worth losing everything?

A sizzling tennis romance perfect for the summer months, The Harper Effect, will be a grand slam for fans of Kasie West, Miranda Kinneally and Simone Ekeles.

Continue reading “Review: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford”