Blog Tours · Book Reviews · Bookish Extras · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Blog Tour|Review: Enchantée by Gita Trelease

Enchantée (Enchantée #1) by Gita Trelease
Published February 26th 2019 by Macmillan Children’s Books
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★

Paris in 1789 is a labyrinth of twisted streets, filled with beggars, thieves, revolutionaries – and magicians . . .

When smallpox kills her parents, seventeen-year-old Camille is left to provide for her frail sister and her volatile brother. In desperation, she survives by using the petty magic she learnt from her mother. But when her brother disappears Camille decides to pursue a richer, more dangerous mark: the glittering court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette.

Using dark magic Camille transforms herself into the ‘Baroness de la Fontaine‘ and presents herself at the court of Versaille, where she soon finds herself swept up in a dizzying life of riches, finery and suitors. But Camille’s resentment of the rich is at odds with the allure of their glamour and excess, and she soon discovers that she’s not the only one leading a double life . . .

Enchantée is a compelling historical fantasy and is Gita Trelease’s debut novel.

Continue reading “Blog Tour|Review: Enchantée by Gita Trelease”

Advertisements
Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1) by Sarah J. Maas
Published May 1nd 2018 by Bloomsbury
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★

Hope warms the coldest night.

Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve.

Yet even the festive atmosphere can’t keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated–scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.

Continue reading “Review: A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1) by Sarah J. Maas”

Book Reviews · Book vs Movie Reviews · Bookish Extras · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Book vs. Movie Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (Lara Jean #1) by Jenny Han

line break - upside down

15749186 Lana Condor in To All the Boys I've Loved Before (2018)

line break

Continue reading “Book vs. Movie Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (Lara Jean #1) by Jenny Han”

Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Series Reviews · Young Adult

Series Review: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

line break - upside down

23437156Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
22299763

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

line break

Continue reading “Series Review: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo”

Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas

Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas
Published September 6, 2016 by Bloomsbury
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★☆

In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire.

Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken.

His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica—the stronghold of the southern continent’s mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them.

But what they discover in Antica will change them both—and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.

Continue reading “Review: Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas”

Blog Tours · Book Reviews · Bookish Extras · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Blog Tour|Review: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Reading Tour Banner_v1_current

Save the Date by Morgan Matson
Published July 1 by Simon & Schuster
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★☆

Charlie Grant tries to keep her life as normal as possible. Hanging out with her best friend, pining for Jesse Foster – who she’s loved since she was twelve – and generally flying under the radar as much as she can.

But sometimes normal is just another word for stuck, and this weekend that’s all going to change. Not only will everyone be back home for her sister’s wedding, but she’s also juggling:

  • a rented dog that just won’t stop howling
  • an unexpectedly hot wedding-coordinator’s nephew
  • her favourite brother bringing home his HORRIBLE new girlfriend
  • fear that her parents’ marriage is falling apart
  • and the return to town of the boy she’s loved practically all her life…

Over the course of four days Charlie will learn there’s so much more to each member of her family than she imagined, even herself, and that maybe letting go of the things she’s been holding on tightest to can help her find what really keeps them together.

Continue reading “Blog Tour|Review: Save the Date by Morgan Matson”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford

The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford
Published December 27th 2017 by Pan Macmillan
RRP AUD $18.99

Sixteen-year-old Harper was once a rising star on the tennis court—until her coach dropped her for being “mentally weak.” Without tennis, who is she? Her confidence at an all-time low, she secretly turns to her childhood friend, next-door neighbor Jacob—who also happens to be her sister’s very recent ex-boyfriend. If her sister finds out, it will mean a family war.

But when Harper is taken on by a new coach who wants her to train with Colt, a cold, defensive, brooding young tennis phenom, she hits the court all the harder, if only to prove Colt wrong. But as the two learn to become a team, Harper gets glimpses of the vulnerable boy beneath the surface, the boy who was deeply scarred by his family’s dark and scandalous past. The boy she could easily find herself falling for.

As she walks a fine line between Colt’s secrets, her forbidden love, and a game that demands nothing but the best, Harper must decide between her past and her future and between two boys who send her head spinning. Is the cost of winning the game is worth losing everything?

A sizzling tennis romance perfect for the summer months, The Harper Effect, will be a grand slam for fans of Kasie West, Miranda Kinneally and Simone Ekeles.

Continue reading “Review: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford”