Blog Tours · Book Reviews · Bookish Extras · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Blog Tour| Review: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Reading Tour Banner_v1_current

Save the Date by Morgan Matson
Published July 1 by Simon & Schuster
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★☆

Charlie Grant tries to keep her life as normal as possible. Hanging out with her best friend, pining for Jesse Foster – who she’s loved since she was twelve – and generally flying under the radar as much as she can.

But sometimes normal is just another word for stuck, and this weekend that’s all going to change. Not only will everyone be back home for her sister’s wedding, but she’s also juggling:

  • a rented dog that just won’t stop howling
  • an unexpectedly hot wedding-coordinator’s nephew
  • her favourite brother bringing home his HORRIBLE new girlfriend
  • fear that her parents’ marriage is falling apart
  • and the return to town of the boy she’s loved practically all her life…

Over the course of four days Charlie will learn there’s so much more to each member of her family than she imagined, even herself, and that maybe letting go of the things she’s been holding on tightest to can help her find what really keeps them together.

Continue reading “Blog Tour| Review: Save the Date by Morgan Matson”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford

The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford
Published December 27th 2017 by Pan Macmillan
RRP AUD $18.99

Sixteen-year-old Harper was once a rising star on the tennis court—until her coach dropped her for being “mentally weak.” Without tennis, who is she? Her confidence at an all-time low, she secretly turns to her childhood friend, next-door neighbor Jacob—who also happens to be her sister’s very recent ex-boyfriend. If her sister finds out, it will mean a family war.

But when Harper is taken on by a new coach who wants her to train with Colt, a cold, defensive, brooding young tennis phenom, she hits the court all the harder, if only to prove Colt wrong. But as the two learn to become a team, Harper gets glimpses of the vulnerable boy beneath the surface, the boy who was deeply scarred by his family’s dark and scandalous past. The boy she could easily find herself falling for.

As she walks a fine line between Colt’s secrets, her forbidden love, and a game that demands nothing but the best, Harper must decide between her past and her future and between two boys who send her head spinning. Is the cost of winning the game is worth losing everything?

A sizzling tennis romance perfect for the summer months, The Harper Effect, will be a grand slam for fans of Kasie West, Miranda Kinneally and Simone Ekeles.

Continue reading “Review: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard
Published 9th February, 2016 by Macmillan Children’s Books
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★

I was brave
She was reckless
We were trouble

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie – confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realises, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

Continue reading “Review: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
Published 26th April, 2017 by Swoon Reads
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★☆

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Continue reading “Review: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
Published April 11th 2017 by Puffin
RRP AUD $19.99
★★

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

Continue reading “Review: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli”

Blog Tours · Book Reviews · Bookish Extras · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Blog Tour|Review + Giveaway: Take Three Girls by Take Three Girls by Cath Crowley, Simmone Howell & Fiona Wood

Take Three Girls by Take Three Girls by Cath Crowley, Simmone Howell & Fiona Wood
Published September 2017 by PanMacmillan Australia
RRP AUD $18.99
★★★★

Kate, a quiet boarder, making some risky choices to pursue the experimental music she loves.

Clem, shrugging off her old swim-team persona, exploring her first sexual relationship, and trying to keep her annoying twin, Iris, at arm’s length.

Ady, grappling with a chaotic family, and wondering who her real friends are; she’s not the confident A-lister she appears to be.

When St Hilda’s establishes a Year 10 Wellness Program in response to the era of cyber-bullying, the three girls are thrown together and an unlikely friendship is sparked. One thing they have in common: each is targeted by PSST, a site devoted to gossip and slander that must have a source within St Hilda’s.

Who can you trust when rumour is the new truth?

Continue reading “Blog Tour|Review + Giveaway: Take Three Girls by Take Three Girls by Cath Crowley, Simmone Howell & Fiona Wood”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
Published July 2015 by Simon & Schuster Children’s UK
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★★

From the Flying Start author of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, a powerful novel about hope in the face of heartbreak. 

Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.

Continue reading “Review: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson”