Blog Tours · Book Reviews · Bookish Extras · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Blog Tour| Review: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Reading Tour Banner_v1_current

Save the Date by Morgan Matson
Published July 1 by Simon & Schuster
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★☆

Charlie Grant tries to keep her life as normal as possible. Hanging out with her best friend, pining for Jesse Foster – who she’s loved since she was twelve – and generally flying under the radar as much as she can.

But sometimes normal is just another word for stuck, and this weekend that’s all going to change. Not only will everyone be back home for her sister’s wedding, but she’s also juggling:

  • a rented dog that just won’t stop howling
  • an unexpectedly hot wedding-coordinator’s nephew
  • her favourite brother bringing home his HORRIBLE new girlfriend
  • fear that her parents’ marriage is falling apart
  • and the return to town of the boy she’s loved practically all her life…

Over the course of four days Charlie will learn there’s so much more to each member of her family than she imagined, even herself, and that maybe letting go of the things she’s been holding on tightest to can help her find what really keeps them together.

Continue reading “Blog Tour| Review: Save the Date by Morgan Matson”

Book Reviews · Children's · Fiction · Graphic Novels

Review: Night Shift by Debi Gliori

Night Shift by Debi Gliori
Published January 12th 2017 by Hot Key Books
RRP AUD $24.99
★★★★☆

A groundbreaking picture book on depression with stunning illustrations. 

With stunning black and white illustration and deceptively simple text, author and illustrator Debi Gliori examines how depression affects one’s whole outlook upon life, and shows that there can be an escape – it may not be easy to find, but it is there. Drawn from Debi’s own experiences and with a moving testimony at the end of the book explaining how depression has affected her and how she continues to cope, Debi hopes that by sharing her own experience she can help others who suffer from depression, and to find that subtle shift that will show the way out.

‘I have used dragons to represent depression. This is partly because of their legendary ability to turn a once fertile realm into a blackened, smoking ruin and partly because popular mythology shows them as monstrous opponents with a tendency to pick fights with smaller creatures. I’m not particularly brave or resourceful, and after so many years battling my beasts, I have to admit to a certain weariness, but I will arm-wrestle dragons for eternity if it means that I can help anyone going through a similar struggle.’

Continue reading “Review: Night Shift by Debi Gliori”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Young Adult

Blog Tour|Review: Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard

Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard
Published February 8th 2018 by Macmillan Children’s Books
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★

When I was wild, you were steady . . .
Now you are wild – what am I? 

Eden McKinley knows she can’t count on much in this world, but she can depend on Bonnie, her solid, steady, straight-A best friend. So it’s a bit of a surprise when Bonnie runs away with the boyfriend Eden knows nothing about five days before the start of their GCSEs. Especially when the police arrive on her doorstep and Eden finds out that the boyfriend is actually their music teacher, Mr Cohn.

Sworn to secrecy and bound by loyalty, only Eden knows Bonnie’s location, and that’s the way it has to stay. There’s no way she’s betraying her best friend. Not even when she’s faced with police questioning, suspicious parents and her own growing doubts.

As the days pass and things begin to unravel, Eden is forced to question everything she thought she knew about the world, her best friend and herself.

Continue reading “Blog Tour|Review: Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford

The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford
Published December 27th 2017 by Pan Macmillan
RRP AUD $18.99

Sixteen-year-old Harper was once a rising star on the tennis court—until her coach dropped her for being “mentally weak.” Without tennis, who is she? Her confidence at an all-time low, she secretly turns to her childhood friend, next-door neighbor Jacob—who also happens to be her sister’s very recent ex-boyfriend. If her sister finds out, it will mean a family war.

But when Harper is taken on by a new coach who wants her to train with Colt, a cold, defensive, brooding young tennis phenom, she hits the court all the harder, if only to prove Colt wrong. But as the two learn to become a team, Harper gets glimpses of the vulnerable boy beneath the surface, the boy who was deeply scarred by his family’s dark and scandalous past. The boy she could easily find herself falling for.

As she walks a fine line between Colt’s secrets, her forbidden love, and a game that demands nothing but the best, Harper must decide between her past and her future and between two boys who send her head spinning. Is the cost of winning the game is worth losing everything?

A sizzling tennis romance perfect for the summer months, The Harper Effect, will be a grand slam for fans of Kasie West, Miranda Kinneally and Simone Ekeles.

Continue reading “Review: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford”

Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Young Adult

Review: The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1) by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1) by Rin Chupeco
Published March 7th 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★

The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.

Continue reading “Review: The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1) by Rin Chupeco”

Book Reviews · Children's · Fantasy · Fiction · Young Adult

Review: The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan

The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan
Published May 2nd 2017 by Puffin
RRP AUD $22.99
★★★★☆

The god Apollo, cast down to earth and trapped in the form of a gawky teenage boy as punishment, must set off on the second of his harrowing (and hilarious) trials.

He and his companions seek the ancient oracles – restoring them is the only way for Apollo to reclaim his place on Mount Olympus – but this is easier said than done.

Somewhere in the American Midwest is a haunted cave that may hold answers for Apollo in his quest to become a god again . . . if it doesn’t kill him or drive him insane first. Standing in Apollo’s way is the second member of the evil Triumvirate – a Roman emperor whose love of bloodshed and spectacle makes even Nero look tame.

To survive the encounter, Apollo will need the help of a now-mortal goddess, a bronze dragon, and some familiar demigod faces from Camp Half-Blood. With them by his side, can Apollo face down the greatest challenge of his four thousand years of existence?

Continue reading “Review: The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard
Published 9th February, 2016 by Macmillan Children’s Books
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★

I was brave
She was reckless
We were trouble

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie – confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realises, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

Continue reading “Review: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard”