Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas
Published September 6, 2016 by Bloomsbury
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★☆

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

eos covers

I absolutely adore Sarah J. Maas’ works, I read the first 4 Throne of Glass books in the span of a week, and ACOTAR & ACOMAF in one night each.  I was supposed to start this directly after receiving my review copy, but I just didn’t have the time until recently, but let me tell you this story didn’t disappoint. To be honest, before I started the book my memory of the past 4 books was a little blurry, but after reading a brief summary of books 1-4, everything came back and I was pumped and ready to go. IT’S 1000000% RECOMMENDED TO READ THE ASSASSIN’S BLADE FIRST! So you can catch the sneaky references 😃

It was so great to see my babies again, Manon is actual bae. I love her. I actually love all of the characters, and I didn’t really care that Chaol wasn’t in it, and it was the main group, but I am excited for his book coming later on in the year. The pairings/couples in the book were SO GOOD. DEFINITELY SOME NEW OTPS RIGHT THERE. Aedion and Dorian’s pairings killed me 😭😭. Some of the ahem intimate scenes though weren’t very appropriate for YA, and was borderline NA – and to be honest, not all of them were really necessary for the story :/. I was kinda disappointed because I didn’t really get to connect with the characters as much in this book, since it was told from various PoVs, but I think it worked out pretty well in the end.

There were a couple of slow parts in the book, and a few people’s chapters that I just wanted to skip over, but overall, I was really into the adventure and I loved the whole characters-breaking-up-then-coming-back-together thing. For some reason I always really enjoy books that do that? Even though ~*realistically*~ the characters would probably not conveniently meet up in a single location accidentally, but eh. For some reason, I pictured one huge forest that goes straight up one side of the continent where the characters all meet up accidentally.

The plot itself was a work of art though omg, like I was blown away at how well they all came together in the end, BUUUUUUT I’m not a huge fan of the ending though, it seems too similar to ACOMAF for my liking (and it worked really well in ACOMAF. Here, not so much), so that took the rating down half-a-star. I probably would’ve loved it more if I hadn’t read ACOMAF. I think as both series progress, more similarities appear between Throne of Glass and ACOTAR, or at least that’s what I feel, thoughts everyone?

Overall, another wonderful book, definitely keen for the next one in the series, but I hope SJM tones down the sex scenes a bit, I just feel like the unnecessariness takes away from the story itself. Instead of sex scenes, I hope she introduces more diverse characters! I think that’ll be better. In the meantime, at least we have Tower of Dawn!! Woo!

I received a review copy from the publisher

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORSarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series, as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

2 thoughts on “Review: Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. YES! I so agree with your assessment on the ending because that’s how I felt too. It worked so well for ACOMAF and then when it happened again in EoS, I found myself feeling quite disappointed. Certainly there were other ways to bring about the conclusion to this book instead of basically copying something that was just done in her most recently published novel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

