Book Reviews · Children's · Non-Fiction · Young Adult

Review: Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli & Francesca Cavallo

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli & Francesca Cavallo
Published November 1st 2016 by Timbuktu Labs
RRP AUD $32.99
★★★★★

100 tales of extraordinary women – the most highly supported original book ever in the history of crowdfunding.

‘The feminist bedtime story book you’ll wish you had growing up’ Stylist
What if the princess didn’t marry Prince Charming but instead went on to be an astronaut? What if the jealous step sisters were supportive and kind? And what if the queen was the one really in charge of the kingdom? Illustrated by sixty female artists from every corner of the globe, Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls introduces us to one hundred remarkable women and their extraordinary lives, from Ada Lovelace to Malala, Elizabeth I to Serena Williams. Empowering, moving and inspirational, these are true fairy tales for heroines who definitely don’t need rescuing.
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls reinvents fairy tales, inspiring children with the stories of 100 heroic women from Elizabeth I to Serena Williams

line break - upside down

Image result for goodnight stories for rebel girls

line break

WOW omg honestly this book is so beautiful and **flawless** in every way, and I loved it. I hadn’t really heard anything about it besides the brief synopsis, so I didn’t really have any expectations. Originally when I saw it in person and flicked through it, I thought it was aimed for much younger audiences, and I wasn’t sure how I was going to like it, but after reading the first story I was entranced! I honestly didn’t want it to end. The writing is beautiful and captures your interest, I think it’s a wonderful book, and it definitely appeals to all age brackets.

One thing that captured my eye, is the stunning illustrations throughout the book. Every lady featured in the book has their own portrait illustration, created by one of sixty female artists. I LOVEEE how this book is so female dominated!! The stories were beautifully written, all very concise and easy to read. The stories are kind of written as fairy-tales, and I loved how magical it made them feel. The simplicity of the stories make them easy to remember and easy to share, as well as making them perfect for children to read and love.

Some of my personal favourite stories include: Michelle Obama, Jane Goodall, Jacquotte Delahaye, Matilde Montoya and Coy Mathis. It really warmed my heart to read Coy’s story, I loved how the book included her story ❤

I don’t really know what else to say about this book, it’s just so beautiful. My copy has a special spot beside my bed, and I’ll read a story whenever I feel like it, and it never fails to pump me up and inspire me to be the best version of myself.

This is just such a gem of a book, I recommend it to everyone, especially to parents with little girls to share stories of other wonderful women. I think that this book would help young girls feel empowered and encourage them to dream big.  This is one of those books that children will treasure as they grow up, and adults will love too.

I received a review copy from the publisher

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORSRelated image

Elena Favilli (left) is the Founder and CEO of Timbuktu Labs, along with Francesca Cavallo. They work at the intersections of publishing, design, and technology.

FRANCESCA CAVALLO (right) is a published writer and theater director. Her award-winning plays have been staged all across Europe. A passionate social innovator, Francesca is the founder of Sferracavalli, an International Festival of Sustainable Imagination in Southern Italy.

In 2011, Francesca joined forces with Elena Favilli to found Timbuktu Labs, where she serves as Creative Director. Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls is her seventh children’s book.

Leave a Reply

