Book Reviews · Fantasy · Romance · Young Adult

Review: The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) by Richelle Mead

The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) by Richelle Mead
Published April 5th 2016
RRP AUD $19.99
★★★☆

Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.

But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…

line break - upside down

27272506

line break

Ok, so I’d been meaning to get around to reading The Glittering Court ever since I first saw a photo of the (STUNNING) cover, but I’d never gotten around to it. Until now, that is (mwahahaa)! I’ve read Richelle Mead’s other series, Vampire Academy, and LOVED it. I’m glad I finally picked it up, because it was pretty good! Overall, this book was somewhat similar to The Selection series, but not really, if you get what I mean? The girls are still groomed for some sort of ‘picking’ but, it isn’t like a competition where only one person wins the final prize.

Richelle’s writing is easy to read and beautifully descriptive, I’ve read some reviews where they weren’t a big fan of the excess descriptions, but I personally didn’t mind them, and I loved the picture they painted in my mind. I wasn’t sure what time it was supposed to be set in, I wasn’t sure if it was a fantasy land or like a historical era? Sometimes it felt like period England, but then other times it felt quite modern and I was very confused.

The reason for the 3 ½ star rating, is just because of how bizarre the premise is I guess? Like the Glittering Court itself basically took girls in and sold them :/ I didn’t know how I felt about that, like it’s still odd even if the girls are happy about it??????

The characters were kinda odd. I didn’t love Adelaide, but I didn’t hate her. The other girls she befriended, Tamsin and Mira had the potential to be wonderful characters, but Tamsin came off as too intense for my liking and I hated how “ambitious” she was. Mira had so much more potential!! But there wasn’t very much about her, hopefully we’ll learn more about her in the next book?

Omg Richelle really knows how to write her romances, let me tell you that! I loved the connection between Adelaide and her beau, I was rooting for them from the beginning and ughhhhhhhh like I don’t want to spoil anything but it’s so cute and I love them, and I think this is what redeemed the parts of the story that didn’t sit well with me.

All in all, I wouldn’t say that this is my favourite book, or that I adored it, but I’m definitely looking forward to seeing what the next book has to offer! I’d probably recommend this to those who liked the Selection series, or like any royal-type books. BUT PLEASE BE WARNED that there is an almost-rape, so if it might trigger, please avoid

 

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Scorpio Richelle Mead is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of urban fantasy books for both adults and teens. Originally from Michigan, Richelle now lives in Seattle, Washington where she works on her three series full-time: Georgina Kincaid, Dark Swan, and Vampire Academy.

A life-long reader, Richelle has always loved mythology and folklore. When she can actually tear herself away from books (either reading or writing them), she enjoys bad reality TV, traveling, trying interesting cocktails, and shopping for dresses. She’s a self-professed coffee addict and has a passion for all things wacky and humorous.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) by Richelle Mead

  1. It is a historically based story, but set in a world Richelle Mead created. I’m reading Midnight Jewel right now and am enjoying Mira’s story. I like that all three books will take place at the same time but focus on a different girl. So we had Adelaide’s story and now we have Mira’s. The final book will give us Tamsin’s tale.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Glittering Court was a great book, Midnight Jewel is on my To Read list when it gets a tad smaller. I agree the backdrop was a tad confusing, though the author I’ve learned isn’t one to ever disappoint.

    Have you read her VA ‘spin off’ Bloodlines, it follows Sydney (The Alchemist) just after the ending of the VA series. I finished Bloodlines and am devouring Golden Lily currently.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

