Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: The Midnight Star (The Young Elites #3) by Marie Lu

The Midnight Star (The Young Elites #3) by Marie Lu
Published October 17, 2016 by Penguin Books Australia
RRP AUD $19.99
★★★★☆

The thrilling finale to the New York Times bestselling Young Elites series from “hit factory” Marie Lu.

There was once a time when darkness shrouded the world, and the darkness had a queen.

Adelina Amouteru is done suffering. She’s turned her back on those who have betrayed her and achieved the ultimate revenge: victory. Her reign as the White Wolf has been a triumphant one, but with each conquest her cruelty only grows. The darkness within her has begun to spiral out of control, threatening to destroy all that she’s achieved.

Adelina’s forced to revisit old wounds when a new danger appears, putting not only Adelina at risk, but every Elite and the very world they live in. In order to save herself and preserve her empire, Adelina and her Roses must join the Daggers on a perilous quest—though this uneasy alliance may prove to be the real danger.

Bestselling author Marie Lu concludes Adelina’s story with this haunting and hypnotizing final installment to the Young Elites series.

line break28588345line break - upside down

So I read the first two books in this series and loved them, they easily became some of my favourite books and I enjoyed how different the main character was, like I was intrigued at how Adelina’s character developed into a villain and how that would play out. To be honest, I tried to start reading this way back in May, but it just didn’t capture my attention at the time and I got distracted by other books. Buuuuut, I started listening to the audiobook while I was painting, and it quickly captured my attention, before I switched over to the paperback to fully immerse myself.

I remember thinking that Adelina sometimes got a bit too intense as a villain, and I was scared to see what would happen in the third book, but it felt so different. I don’t know if this was because of the large time difference from when I read the first two to when I read this one, or whether the book itself followed a different character path. I mean, last book I was kind of scared of how far Adelina would go, but in this book I found myself wanting to protect her against the voices inside of her head. Like, I will say that her viewpoint for the marked/unmarked people was justified, but those voices made everything so much more intense for her and her people.

It was interesting to see how the story developed, like it was more adventurous than the first two, and less focused on one main battle. Marie has clearly displayed her talent for writing, like the fighting scenes were beautiful and descriptive, and the PoVs of each character felt so different. I also really loved how Adelina’s mental instability was portrayed, and my heart went out to her omg.

Adelina’s character has developed so far from the first book, and I loved how her internal conflicts played out and I was honestly so proud of her final decision. Back in The Young Elites, Adelina was just starting out and her character felt small and kinda weak, BUT now her character was so strong, wasn’t pushed around by anyone and just felt so badass. I loved how she didn’t take any nonsense or backtalk from anyone.

Out of all the relationships hinted at/showed in the book, my favourites were the sisterly bond between Adelina and Violetta, and the relationship between Adelina and Magiano. For the relationship between Adelina and Magiano, all I can say is 😍😭. Adelina and Violetta though, I loved how strong their bond was, everything they did, they did it for each other and I loved it.

I just wish the book was longer!! I didn’t think that it was long enough to hold the full story, and I would’ve liked it to be spread out a bit more. The ending made me cry so much omg, my heart still aches whenever I think of it. I can honestly say that I didn’t expect the series to end up like that at all, but it does make sense.

My thoughts are still a bit scattered, sorry! I fully blame the book though, it was just too good. I definitely 100% recommend this series, the writing is beautiful and the main character is badass anti-hero and I love her.

I received a review copy from the publisher

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORMarie Lu

I write young adult novels, and have a special love for dystopian books. Ironically, I was born in 1984. Before becoming a full-time writer, I was an Art Director at a video game company. Now I shuffle around at home and talk to myself a lot. 🙂

I graduated from the University of Southern California in ’06 and currently live in LA, where I spend my time stuck on the freeways.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Midnight Star (The Young Elites #3) by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

