Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Series Reviews · Young Adult

Series Review: The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I decided to just do a series review, since as I was reading I pretty much finished one book and opened the next right away to continue the story, so it all kind of melted into one huge book.

line break - upside down

17675462The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her. His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Gansey is different. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been told by her psychic family that she will kill her true love. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)17347389

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…
BuyFrom_purple_delivery

17378508Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs. The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.
BuyFrom_purple_delivery

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4)17378527

All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.
BuyFrom_purple_delivery
line break
 Before we get started, can we please just take a moment to appreciate the cover artwork?? Adam S Doyle is incredible omg

Based off of what I had heard in the bookish community prior to reading the series, I knew a lot of people really loved it and I wanted to see what the hype was about, and it definitely did not disappoint!! This was the first series I read by Maggie Stiefvater, and I loved her writing. Throughout the book, there are beautiful scenes and the whole series was just so quotable if you get what I mean?? Maggie is extremely skilled and a wonderful story teller. The characters in the series were well-developed, each with their own defined personalities and quirks, and detailed backstories, and they truly captured my emotions and I really cared about all of them. When I wasn’t reading, I was constantly thinking about them.

From the very beginning of The Raven Boys, the story and characters drew me in and captivated me until the very last page of The Raven King, and even after that I didn’t know what to do with myself until I turned to my dear friend, Tumblr, who helped me fill the Raven-Cycle-shaped hole in my soul temporarily. When reading, I honestly had no idea what to expect, so the story kept me in a constant state of wonder, and I loved it.

All of the characters were intriguing, well-developed and felt so real to me. Gansey was a beautiful character, and I loved him from the very beginning, his eccentric naivety made him so endearing. Although I loved the other characters too, I knew he was going to be one of my favourites. The relationships between the characters were all very dynamic and they worked so well together, especially between Blue and the Raven Boys.

I loved how easily magic was incorporated, it felt so natural and everything just worked so well together. The story plot was so unique, and the Welsh mythology aspect was so intriguing. The series was so good that I abandoned all responsibilities and just read and read and read. I went to sleep late (or should I say early, ahem) and woke up at ridiculous hours of the morning to continue reading. Everything flowed so well together, and I loved every minute of it, but I wish there was more to the ending of the last book. I’ve heard that there’s going to be a spin-off trilogy based on Ronan?!?!?!! but in the meantime I think I’m going to re-read the series 😍😍

 

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORMaggie Stiefvater

New York Times bestselling author of The Shiver Trilogy, The Raven Cycle, and The Scorpio Races. Artist. Driver of things with wheels. Avid reader.

All of Maggie Stiefvater’s life decisions have been based around her inability to be gainfully employed. Talking to yourself, staring into space, and coming to work in your pajamas are frowned upon when you’re a waitress, calligraphy instructor, or technical editor (all of which she’s tried), but are highly prized traits in novelists and artists. She’s made her living as one or the other since she was 22. She now lives an eccentric life in the middle of nowhere, Virginia with her charmingly straight-laced husband, two kids, two neurotic dogs, and a 1973 Camaro named Loki.

6 thoughts on “Series Review: The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I love series reviews! This series flows so well together that reviewing the whole series at once is fitting. This was the first Maggie Stiefvater series I read too and I fell in love with her writing. Ronan is my favorite out of the main cast so I’m really excited about the Ronan trilogy!!! I can’t wait!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

