Blog Tours · Bookish Extras · Guest Posts · Uncategorized

Blog Tour: Watch Over Me by Claire Corbett| Guest Post

As a part of the blog tour for Watch Over Me by Claire Corbett, I am excited to share this guest post written by the Claire herself! Check out my review here.

A special thank you to Allen & Unwin for providing me with this opportunity.

From the beginning of thinking about the story that became Watch Over Me I had this stark image of freezing, foggy night with a tiny refuge of warmth and light that was the Half Moon Café. I had this vision of a little café by the Arctic sea and of course my main character, Sylvie, had to work in that café. It was obvious that this public space would be where she encounters the Garrison lieutenant Will, who plays such a large role in her life. So, Sylvie was not only a waitress but also had to work in the kitchen and this plunged me into memories of one of my own first jobs, when I was Sylvie’s age, which was working in a little café at Palm Beach in Sydney.

It was a good job –physically tough as I was on my feet eight or ten hours a day – and I made close friends and learned how to bake fabulous cakes: sour cream coffee cake and whisky cake and lemon poppyseed. I learned how valuable these cakes are, how much money each slice had to earn and that was great for the novel – the cakes become a sign of love and a kind of abundance and yet in Port Angelsund under occupation they’re part of economic survival too.

I loved writing that aspect of Sylvie’s character and researching the cakes from that part of the world. Cakes are a big deal in Scandinavia and I tried to capture some of that cultural importance in the book. I researched cakes like the Kvæfjordkake, which is layers of sponge with berries and cream.

Sylvie’s a warm and nurturing person; I enjoyed writing that side of her, honouring the more traditionally feminine aspect of her, if you like. She’s not a kickass heroine though she is brave, which she shows in many different ways. In a war zone those qualities cannot be valued enough, I think.

blog.jpg

Kvaefjordkake, voted World’s Best Cake by Norwegians


Watch Over Me by Claire Corbett is published by Allen & Unwin, RRP $29.99, available now.

iBooks • Booktopia • Amazon

BuyFrom_purple_delivery


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Claire Corbett was born in Canada and has worked in film and government policy. Her first novel, When We Have Wings, was published in 2011 and shortlisted for the 2012 Barbara Jefferis Award and the 2012 Ned Kelly Award for Best First Fiction. Her recent fiction and essays have been published in a range of journals, including The Best Australian Stories 2014/2015, Griffith Review, Southerly and Overland. She has written on defence and strategy for The Diplomat, The Strategist and The Monthly.

Twitter: @ccorbettauthor • Facebook: @clairecorbettauthor • Website: http://www.clairecorbett.com

 

Untitled-1


Check out other stops!:

Displaying Watch over me tour banner final.jpg

Leave a Reply

