Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse

Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse
Published March 2017 by Little, Brown
RRP AUD $15.99
★★★

A romantic, wistful, and witty contemporary novel set around two teenagers falling in love over seven days in Tokyo, Japan. Perfect for fans of Non Pratt, Susin Nielsen and Jennifer E. Smith.

It’s Sophia’s last week in Tokyo, and she’s going to make it count…

Sophia has spent her life ping-ponging between different countries and schools, so, in theory, saying goodbye should be easy. But now she’s leaving Tokyo – the place that finally felt like home. The only way she can get through this is to make her final week perfect.

Then Jamie Foster-Collins shows up, just in time to ruin everything. Jamie and Sophia used to be friends . . . and his return stirs up feelings she thought she’d forgotten.

Suddenly, hours and minutes become meaningless. Only time spent together, exploring the hidden streets of the city they love, is real.

31308114

This is Cecilia Vinesse’s debut novel, so I hadn’t heard of her before. I think overall, it was a pretty good story for a debut, but there were some parts that didn’t sit well with me. I can relate to the story as I was an expat living in an Asian country for a few years, and I think Cecilia captured the essence wonderfully, but I wasn’t such a big fan of all the drinking, since I think there’s so much more than just that. I liked how Cecilia portrayed emotions, and I could really identify with how everyone felt, especially Sophia’s and Mika’s feelings when it got down to the deep stuff.

Once you push away the love-triangle, I generally liked the romance aspect of the story, like even though it was definitely an insta-love romance, it didn’t seem that way because of the age-old friendship I suppose. There was so much potential for strong family relationships!! Unfortunately, it kind of fell short at the beginning, even though it did get better towards the end!! I wish the relationship had been consistent throughout.

I didn’t like most of the characters though. Sophia herself bothered me at times, because she was so selfish and I couldn’t deal. Jamie was a precious cinnamon bun and was way too good for her and put up with too much of her nonsense. Her friends weren’t much better, I found most of them were just terrible friends to Sophia and I wasn’t a fan. I only really liked Caroline, because she was such a sweetheart.

I understand that these characters are mostly expats, but I would’ve liked to see more of the Japanese culture and Japanese characters, it didn’t really feel like the story was set in Japan, and I don’t really know how to explain it, but I wasn’t a big fan of the way the setting was written, if that makes sense. Also, I feel as though Sophia would’ve learnt some Japanese, especially if she’d been living there for more than 3 years :/

The story was cute though, even if I’m kinda iffy about it. I probably wouldn’t recommend this book to everyone I meet, but I can see the writing potential and I would love to see what else Cecilia has to offer.

I received a review copy from the publisher

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORCecilia Vinesse Pic 9.jpg

Cecilia Vinesse was born in France but grew up between Tokyo, Japan and Greenville, South Carolina. Her obsession with Nora Ephron movies led her to New York City to attend Barnard College and then to live in New York for three years afterward, working in children’s book marketing and living in an apartment furnished mostly by stacks of novels.

Leave a Reply

