Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance

Review: My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella
Published January 30, 2017 by Bantam Press
RRP AUD $32.99
★★★★

Katie Brenner has the perfect life: a flat in London, a glamorous job, and a super-cool Instagram feed.

OK, so the truth is that she rents a tiny room with no space for a wardrobe, has a hideous commute to a lowly admin job, and the life she shares on Instagram isn’t really hers.

But one day her dreams are bound to come true, aren’t they?

Until her not-so-perfect life comes crashing down when her mega-successful boss Demeter gives her the sack. All Katie’s hopes are shattered. She has to move home to Somerset, where she helps her dad with his new glamping business.

Then Demeter and her family book in for a holiday, and Katie sees her chance. But should she get revenge on the woman who ruined her dreams – or try to get her job back? Does Demeter – the woman who has everything – actually have such an idyllic life herself? Maybe they have more in common than it seems.

And what’s wrong with not-so-perfect, anyway?

30821597

What an adorable story! I loved it. Before this, I hadn’t read anything by Sophie Kinsella (I know, such a shock!!), but I did know how wonderful she was at writing through many raving reviews of Finding Audrey and the Shopaholic series. I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy novels lately, so it was nice to read this as sort of a ‘palette cleanser’, it was light and fun to read.

My Not So Perfect Life didn’t exactly leave me on the edge of my seat, being a very light story, but it did certainly keep me turning the pages. I finished the book in a day, but wanted to sit on it to see how I really felt about it.

I loved the main theme of not everything always being how they seem, it made everything a lot more realistic (well, as realistic as fictional stories can be, but you get what I mean). I was thoroughly amused throughout, and found myself laughing at certain parts of the story, I love her humour! Not even 2 pages in, I knew I was in for a treat.

The characters were fun and well-developed. I really enjoyed them! The relationships between different characters were dynamic and worked well, with the main focus being strong female friendships, instead of having the romantic aspect taking the spotlight. I do wish, however, that we got a bit more of the romance! I loved the two characters and thought they worked really well together.

The MC, Katie/Cat, was intelligent and determined, and an overall lovely protagonist, but I did get annoyed with her decisions at times, especially from the midway point before she actually got to know her boss. Demeter was such a character, and I think she really helped personify that you really can’t assume things about other people’s lives.

For me, the ending was a little too perfect and everything worked out too well, I would have liked to see maybe a sequel? I don’t know, I just felt as though everything happened too fast, hence the 4-star rating.

Regardless, I loved my first foray into the Sophie Kinsella world, it was fun and hilarious, and I’m definitely going to be picking up another one of her novels in the near future!

 

I received a review copy from the publisher

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sophie Kinsella is a writer and former financial journalist. She is the number one bestselling author of Can You Keep a Secret?, The Undomestic Goddess, Remember Me?, Twenties Girl, I’ve Got Your Number and Wedding Night, the hugely popular Shopaholic novels and the Young Adult novel Finding Audrey. She lives in London with her husband and family. She is also the author of several bestselling novels under the name of Madeleine Wickham.

Visit her website at http://www.sophiekinsella.co.uk.

6 thoughts on “Review: My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

  1. I’m really liking the sound of this book! Sophie Kinsella’s heroines tend to bug me a bit but I love the blurb for this one – seems very relevant, haha. Great review, Shanayah! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed this title, despite the too-perfect ending. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

