Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Dreamology by Lucy Keating

Dreamology by Lucy Keating
Published April 12th 2016 by Harper Teen
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★☆

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

23466626

Well, I can definitely say reading Dreamology was an experience!

One night when I couldn’t sleep, I picked it up thinking ‘what better book to begin at night than one with ‘dream’ in the title!’. I don’t know if it was my night-brain or if I was just in a ‘roll-with-this’ mood but when I was reading it I was like yeah!!! this could happen and it would be so cute!!, but after sitting on it for a few days, it only really set in how odd the events were.

So, our protagonist, Alice, has been dreaming about a guy named Max for a pretty long time, and they go on all sorts of adventures together. Throughout the years she falls in love with him (yeah, it’s definitely an ‘open mind’ sort of book), and when she moves she meets real life Max, things aren’t exactly how she thought they would be. I liked the general premise of the book and it held my attention, I didn’t get bored at all.

The side characters in the story were highlights and I really enjoyed it when they were present in the story, especially Oliver and Sophie! I loved the friendship between Alice and Oliver, although I did feel bad for Oliver during some parts where Alice kept obsessing over Max L. I was so happy when Sophie came in though! I loved how sassy she was. The characters in the story were generally pretty well-developed, and I got a good grasp of their personalities.

I didn’t really agree with how Alice and Max dealt with everything, like so much could have been avoided had they not been indecisive and just talked about things, but I liked the characters enough that that didn’t bother me too much. I suppose I quite liked how there was no catty fights between Alice and Max’s girlfriend, but I didn’t like how things went in order to get to the ending results.

I really enjoy it when people tell me stories of what they’ve dreamed, so I definitely LOVED the dream scenes, the descriptions were wonderful, they truly captured Alice and Max’s whimsical adventures and I would love to have some of those dreams.

Lucy’s writing is lovely and fluid, and kept me in a captivated dream-like state. The pacing was good, although things were a little slow in the beginning. I wasn’t a fan of the scientific explanation of how the dreams occurred, and I definitely would’ve wanted more details on how that happened!

Don’t get me wrong! The book was generally an enjoyable read and definitely kept me entertained. The romance aspects were so cute! It was only the little details that kind of let me down, hence the three-and-a-half-star rating.

 

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORLucy Keating

Lucy lives in San Francisco, California. She grew up in Boston, Massachusetts, attended Williams College in the Berkshires, and still misses the East Coast very much.

When she’s not writing, Lucy can usually be found obsessing over the latest music, inventing new flavors of ice cream, or having what she feels are perfectly acceptable conversations with her dog, Ernie.

You can follow Lucy on Instagram @lucy.keating, and Ernie The Dog @ernsboberns

 

Leave a Reply

