Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Young Adult

Review + Giveaway: The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles
Published February 9, 2017 by Bloomsbury Childrens
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★

Hey guys! I am so excited to be partnering up with Bloomsbury Sydney to host a giveaway! 2 lucky winners will each receive a paperback copy of The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles, enter here.

This is an Australian address only giveaway, sorry to International readers, but be sure to keep an eye out for future giveaways!

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods–only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. Forbidden to reveal himself to anyone other than his victims, X casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As X and Zoe learn more about their different worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future. But escaping the Lowlands and the ties that bind X might mean the ultimate sacrifice for both of them.

31170713

Overall, an intriguing story. I didn’t really have much prior knowledge of this book, so my expectations weren’t sky-high, and it definitely did not disappoint! I read the synopsis a while back, but didn’t really remember 100% what it was about (and thought it was a contemporary??? Let me tell you right now that it’s not, haha!), so it was a little more interesting diving right into the story. Things got seriously dark, real quick.

The book begins without a lot of world-building and the author kind of throws you into the story, which isn’t bad! I was captivated throughout and resumed reading at every opportunity. The only thing that really let me down plot-wise, was the ending, because it didn’t really sit well with me.

I was quite intrigued at the whole Lowlands idea, and the bounty hunter element was really interesting too. I got a little bit confused at times, because some pop culture references were quite modern, but for some reason I kept thinking it was set quite a while ago? But I suppose that’s just me haha. I was actually quite happy with how ahem, descriptive certain bounty hunter scenes got.

The romance was quite well done, even though it was definitely insta-love I actually really enjoyed their relationship. It kind of reminded me of Romeo and Juliet, so that was a nice element. I liked how devoted they were to each other, but I also got a little annoyed at how they kept only caring about each other, if you get what I mean???

I really liked Zoe at the start, I loved how realistic her character was and how protective she was of Jonah (who was a GEM), but then as the story progressed, she started becoming much more indecisive and began ignoring those closest to her, which I wasn’t a big fan of. Being a teenage girl myself, I think her age portrayal was quite good too.

All in all, it was a pretty good read and I’m super excited for the second book!!

 

I received a review copy from the publisher 

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORImage result for jeff giles author

Jeff Giles grew up in Cohasset, Massachusetts. Most recently, he was the deputy managing editor of Entertainment Weekly, where he oversaw all coverage of movies and books, including the magazine’s championing of YA fiction. Jeff has written for Rolling Stone and The New York Times Books Review. He also coauthored The Terrorist’s Son, a nonfiction book that won an Alex Award from the American Library Association and has since been translated into more than a dozen languages. While reporting on the Lord of the Rings movies for Newsweek, Jeff was invited to be an extra in The Return of the King. He played a Rohan soldier, and–because he didn’t have a beard or mustache–they glued yak hair to his face. Jeff lives with his family in Montana.

5 thoughts on “Review + Giveaway: The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

Leave a Reply

