Book Reviews · Children's · Contemporary · Fiction

Review: Amazing Abby: Drama Queen (Girls Can Vlog #2) by Emma Moss

Amazing Abby: Drama Queen (Girls Can Vlog #2) by Emma Moss
Published September 13, 2016 by Macmillan Children’s Books
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★☆

Ever since Abby and her friends set up the Girls Can Vlog YouTube channel, Abby has been busier than ever. Not only is she vlogging at least once a week, but she also has a role in the school musical production of Grease. While Abby’s always found keeping up with her schoolwork tough, now it’s virtually impossible, and to make things even worse, she’s developing a major crush . . . on two different boys!

If Abby’s parents find out about her slipping grades, will it mean the end for her acting and vlogging dreams?

An inspirational story about the power of vlogging – complete with tips for starting up your own YouTube channel!

29520058

 

I’m going to start off by saying this is indeed a middle-grade fiction novel, just in case there are any doubts. Regardless, it was well-written and engaging. I read this book as sort of a contemporary filler from the intense high fantasy novels I’ve been reading lately and enjoyed the change of pace. I found this book to be quite predictable, but I enjoyed seeing how things unfolded, regardless.

I think it’s a great middle-grade fiction book and would be really relatable for 9-12 year olds, since it’s about a group of girls wanting to become ‘internet famous’, while also trying to balance school life and social life, since they’d be around the similar age group and would have similar interests and similar social structures in school, but for me I wasn’t able to relate as much being a bit older. It was just a good story, not bad, but also not great.

I LOVED the formatting of the book! I enjoy books so much more when they have things like texts, comments, scripts and things like that, so yay!! They definitely added to the book atmosphere. Emma’s description skills are on point, I had a pretty good feel of what the vlogs were intended to look like, and I probably would’ve enjoyed watching the actual vlogs if they were made, but I was also quite surprised at the rate of subscribers gained, because I feel like it’s not that easy??

While I hadn’t read the first in the series, I felt as if I could pick up enough about the characters to be able to fully understand all that was happening, as the story was relatively straightforward and didn’t require a lot of background knowledge of the characters. The characters in the story were cute, but relatively shallow, with very little character development. However, taking into consideration the target audience, it isn’t as much of a big deal as it would be with a YA novel. I did, however, really like the friendship between the girls, and enjoyed how they brought each other up.

I’m not a fan of love triangles. At all. But, for some reason this one was manageable, and didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would’ve, and I wasn’t a fan of the whole clichéd popular-girl-is-a-bully-and-wants-the-same-guy-as-the-protagonist kinda thing, but in the end I was ok with how things turned out.

I received a review copy from the publisher

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Emma Moss has always loved reading and, following a degree in English Literature, moved into children’s publishing, where she worked for eight happy years. Now a freelance editor and writer, she’s worked with a range of celebrity authors including YouTuber Tanya Burr on Love, Tanya. Her hobbies include charity work for South London Cares and, of course, watching her favourite YouTubers online!

Leave a Reply

