Blog Tours · Bookish Extras · Guest Posts

Blog Tour: My Husband Is My Other Man: Third Time Lucky by Karly Lane | Guest Post

As a part of the blog tour for Third Time Lucky by Karly Lane, I am honoured to publish this guest post written by the lovely Karly Lane herself!
A special thank you to Allen & Unwin for providing me with this opportunity.


One of the funniest things I get asked as a writer and particularly because I write romance, I guess, is where do you get your love scene inspiration from?

Really?

 ‘My husband,’ I always answer, with a straight face. Now don’t get me wrong, my hubby has never given me anything to complain about in the romance department… ok, so I’m using romance pretty loosely there, but, you know. He’s a guy. He’s an Australian guy, to be more specific. As far as romance goes, he’s not the type to send flowers or write me a poem in his lunch break. If he did it would probably start something like, ‘There once was a girl from Nantucket…’ But, he fills the horses water trough, and he built them a shelter, and then there’s the biggest romantic thing he’s ever done… without any prompting or suggestions, he actually said, ‘Maybe you should write down how to feed the horses, just in case one day, you can’t do it and I have too.’ (Hold on a moment, I need to dab my eyes).

This from the man who doesn’t like horses. So if that isn’t romance, I don’t know what is.

Maybe my hubby isn’t the tall, hot, mysterious man from one of my novels. And maybe those love scenes actually came from years of storing away bits and pieces of info I’ve picked up along the way from years of binge reading romance. Or, maybe they came from those few wild years working in that strip bar, (I made that last bit up) the truth is, I don’t know where I get my inspiration from. But I’m certainly not going to correct my hubby when he struts around at work, telling all his mates that’s he’s the inspiration for it… he offered to feed my horses! He’s my hero.

9781760291822

Third Time Lucky by Karly Lane is published by Allen & Unwin, RRP $29.99, available now.
iBooks | Booktopia | Amazon | Book Depository


About the Authorlane_karly

Karly Lane lives with her husband and four children in a small town on the mid-north coast of NSW. She writes whenever she can fit it in around her part-time job and children.

Find her here:
Twitter • Facebook • Instagram • Website

 

 

Check out the other stops here!

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: My Husband Is My Other Man: Third Time Lucky by Karly Lane | Guest Post

Leave a Reply

