Blog Tours · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Moon Chosen (Tales of a New World #1) by P.C. Cast

Moon Chosen (Tales of a New World #1) by P.C. Cast
Published November 2016 by Pan Australia
★★★★

#1 New York Times bestselling author, P.C. Cast, brings us a new epic fantasy set in a world where humans, their animal allies, and the earth itself has been drastically changed. A world filled with beauty and danger and cruelty…

Mari is an Earth Walker, heir to the unique healing powers of her Clan; but she has cast her duties aside, until she is chosen by a special animal ally, altering her destiny forever. When a deadly attack tears her world apart, Mari reveals the strength of her powers and the forbidden secret of her dual nature as she embarks on a mission to save her people. It is not until Nik, the son of the leader from a rival, dominating clan strays across her path, that Mari experiences something she has never felt before…

Now, darkness is coming, and with it, a force, more terrible and destructive than the world has ever seen, leaving Mari to cast the shadows from the earth. By forming a tumultuous alliance with Nik, she must make herself ready. Ready to save her people. Ready to save herself and Nik. Ready to embrace her true destiny…and obliterate the forces that threaten to destroy them all.

32184253
This book actually took me a while to get into, (like 200 pages, but anyway) but once things started picking up I was hooked. I completely ignored every single assignment I had to do and just kept reading. Should I have done that? No. Would I do it again? Probably.

At first glance, the story sounds intriguing and promising, and the cover is GORGEOUS, but when I first started reading it all I was thinking was: what??? In the beginning, the book was so so wordy and no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t seem to absorb much. I also kept getting confused about the world, because to me it felt as if I was thrown into the world without much information, but that may just be because of the whole not-absorbing thing. As time went on I understood better and better how the world worked and how the varying races worked and what they do. Not going to lie though, I’m still a little confused about the layout, I would have really liked a map! An index would’ve been helpful too, haha.

The character interaction and relationships in the story were beautifully written, and not just the romantic ones! I especially loved the relationship between the main character, Mari, and her mother, Leda, their devotion to each other warmed my heart, and I could really feel the emotional attachment they had for each other. Another thing I really liked was how Mari knew from the beginning that she was mixed, that really helped show the close bond between Mari and Leda. But Mari and Sora! What a pair those two became, they reminded me so much of Aelin and Lysandra from the Throne of Glass series, haha.

I also loved the empowerment felt through the course of the book, with Mari just accepting who she is instead of trying to hide or change her true self, you go Mari!!

This was definitely a women-driven story, with Moon Women being highly respected among the Earth Walkers and the strong female protagonists but let’s not forget the men of the story, Rigel and Nik! Rigel was easily one of the best parts of the story, and I loved the idea of having a bond with an animal,and I thought it was interesting how the dog chose their companion (sort of like how the wand chooses the wizard, I suppose), and what that would entail. Can I have an animal companion? Please??

In the beginning, Nik was quite the odd one, I thought he was annoying and way too obsessive over the pup, but then we got to know him a little bit better and he turned out to be a sweetheart too, and while he may not have been a bonded german shepherd, he was still pretty good. It was easy to see where the friendship would’ve formed from, with Nik and Mari both feeling kind of left out from their own respective groups.

One thing that kind of confused me was how accepting everyone seemed to be, like it shouldn’t be that easy? Especially when people are so obviously prejudiced. I don’t know, I suppose it was easier for the story to move along if everyone was accepting, but it just didn’t sit completely right with me.

There was also the occasional mention of another group of people, the Skin-Stealers, but to be honest, I don’t think they really contributed much to the story, and with a bit of arranging things around, they wouldn’t have been necessary tot he actual story. But, that just means there’s more to talk about in the next book! I’m definitely coming back for the next book, but I feel like if the wordiness of it was cut down and the current loose ends were tied up neatly, it would be so much better. The slight cliffhanger at the end of this book wasn’t enough to make me look up and stare blankly around me as I imagined the world falling apart with doom and mayhem raining all around me (ahem, Mark of Athena), but it was definitely enough to make me wonder what’s going to happen next.

I received a review copy from the publisher

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORP.C. Cast

PC was born in the Midwest, and grew up being shuttled back-and-forth between Illinois and Oklahoma, which is where she fell in love with Quarter Horses and mythology (at about the same time). After high school, she joined the United States Air Force and began public speaking and writing. After her tour in the USAF, she taught high school for 15 years before retiring to write full time. PC is a #1 New York Times and #1 USA Today Best-Selling author and a member of the Oklahoma Writers Hall of Fame.

Her novels have been awarded the prestigious: Oklahoma Book Award, YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers, Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, the Prism, Holt Medallion, Daphne du Maurier, Booksellers’ Best, and the Laurel Wreath. PC is an experienced teacher and talented speaker. Ms. Cast lives in Oregon near her fabulous daughter, her adorable pack of dogs, her crazy Maine Coon, and a bunch of horses.Her latest release, MOON CHOSEN, book 1 in the TALES OF A NEW WORLD series debuts October 18th!

Leave a Reply

