Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Stealing Snow (Stealing Snow #1) by Danielle Paige

Stealing Snow (Stealing Snow #1)  by Danielle Paige
Published October, 2016 by Bloomsbury Publishing Australia
RRP AUD $16.99
★☆

First kisses sometimes wake slumbering princesses, undo spells, and spark happily ever afters.

Mine broke Bale.

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent her life locked in Whittaker Psychiatric—but she isn’t crazy. And that’s not the worst of it. Her very first kiss proves anything but innocent…when Bale, her only love, turns violent.

Despite Snow knowing that Bale would never truly hurt her, he is taken away—dashing her last hope for any sort of future in the mental ward she calls home. With nowhere else to turn, Snow finds herself drawn to a strange new orderly who whispers secrets in the night about a mysterious past and a kingdom that’s hers for the taking—if only she can find her way past the iron gates to the Tree that has been haunting her dreams.

Beyond the Tree lies Algid, a land far away from the real world, frozen by a ruthless king. And there too await the River Witch, a village boy named Kai, the charming thief Jagger, and a prophecy that Snow will save them all.

 

I just want to say, how beautiful is the UK cover??? I love it so much, and the silver bits of the physical book catch the lighting so well and there are always visible rainbows on them, heart eyes emoji!! Anyway, I started this book with high expectations, having heard so many wonderful things about Danielle Paige’s other series, Dorothy Must Die, unfortunately it didn’t quite live up to my expectations. I recently finished Heartless by Marissa Meyer and absolutely loved that, so I was ready for another fairy tale retelling. Danielle’s writing style was beautiful, great descriptions and an overall magical feel to it, but unfortunately it was the contents of the story that let me down.

It started out well enough, with the perfect amounts of crazy and creepy and I really liked Snow’s character. From there, things started getting complicated. I found the world-building isn’t really there, and the pacing was really odd, like some parts of the story moved way too fast for my liking, for example when Snow started ‘training’ she seemed to jump from no-idea-at-all to ice-wielding-snow-warrior in like a page.

The story started out with Snow being a strong female character, but as the story progressed, I got more and more annoyed at how she kept falling for every guy she met, creating a really really weirdly-shaped love circle (circle?). The attitudes of the other characters really confused me too, like Fathom was all closed off and private, but then suddenly decides to tell her whole life story?? The only character I truly liked was Gerde, who was such a sweetheart.

The plot twists were highly unexpected and I really enjoyed that, but the main thing that let me down for this book were the fight scenes. I love a good fight scene, but the pace was way too fast and nondescript, I got so lost and had to re-read 2 or 3 times just to understand what was happening.

I received a review copy from the publisher

 

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORImage result

Danielle Paige is the New York Times bestselling author of the Dorothy Must Die seriesand the upcoming  Stealing Snow series (Bloomsbury, 2016). In addition to writing young adult books, she works in the television industry, where she’s received a Writers Guild of America Award and was nominated for several Daytime Emmys. She is a graduate of Columbia University and currently lives in New York City. You can find her on twitter and instagram.

9 thoughts on “Review: Stealing Snow (Stealing Snow #1) by Danielle Paige

    1. Oddly enough, personally I find most of them to be opposite! Like, Rick Riordan’s books have absolutely gorgeously illustrated US covers, but I’m not such a big fan of the UK ones. For me, I generally find myself liking the US covers more, with a select few with preference for the UK covers, like the Throne of Glass series and Stealing Snow! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

