Awards & Tags · Bookish Extras

Book Tag: Unpopular Opinions Tag

This should be interesting! Let me know whether you agree or disagree with any of these.

Tagged by Bianca @ The Ultimate Fangirl!

 

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like

Twilight. When I was reading it, I enjoyed it, but afterward when I really began to unpack the story and the characters, I just found it to be lacking, especially when you compare

2. A popular book that everyone hates but you love

This is going to sound odd, especially after my review of The Crown, but I really love the main three books in the Selection Series. There was just something magical about it.

3. A love triangle where your ship did not sail

Red Queen. I don’t really want to say too much just because I may end up accidentally spoiling the book for those who haven’t read it yet, but let’s just say that I wish the ending of Red Queen was just a joke and didn’t really happen.

4. A popular genre that you hardly reach for.

Horror. Actually, I don’t think I’ve ever willingly reached for a horror book. There’s just something about choosing to read (or watch, for horror movies) something you know will scare you that doesn’t really make sense to me.

5. A beloved character you didn’t like

Harry Potter’s Severus Snape. I’m sorry, but loving Harry’s mum doesn’t give him the right to treat Harry horribly. He was just too sour for the majority of the series and I couldn’t get past it, although my hatred for him turned into a mere dislike by the end of Deathly Hallows.

6. A popular author you can’t get into

To be honest, there aren’t really any authors that I outright dislike or can’t get into, because for me I read the books based on what they’re about, and if they’re by an author that I already love, even better.

7. A popular book series you have no interest in reading

The Ender Quintet. This is a bit of a cheat answer here, since I did read the first book in the series, but I’m not likely to finish the series.

8. An adaptation you like better than the book

While I love The Hobbit, I have to say that the movies did an amazing job bringing the book to life, and when the three movies put together add up to 513 minutes of dwarven shenanigans for a 320-page book, you know it’s going to be good.

 

I tag:

Nayeli @ MOREBEAUOOKSPaige Turner @ Between Reality ♥ Priyanka @ PriyankaReads ♥ Camillia @ Twenty Three Pages ♥ Anjie @ Love Thy Shelf ♥ Amphy @ Bookrantings ♥ Taylor @ Stay on the Page ♥ Andrea @ The Little Red Reviewer

 

Untitled-1

11 thoughts on “Book Tag: Unpopular Opinions Tag

  1. Thank you! I get Snape is kind of complex, but he seems to do some right things for all the wrong reasons. I completely disagree with people who think he’s some kind of role model hero. And, yeah, many of the nasty things he did were not at all an act. He was an asset to the Order, but not truly a warmhearted person.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are totally allowed to not like Snape. I have very complicated feelings about him, but you are absolutely correct when you say that loving Harry’s mother doesn’t make up for being a bad person… and you can be a bad person without being straight up evil. Also, I highly recommend digging deeper into Ender’s story! Speaker for the Dead is a great sequel… I’ve never read a book that was so radically different from the first (Ender is, after all, grown up…) that still managed to be so strong and perfect a compliment to the first book. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Totally agree with you on Snape! Just because he did the right thing ultimately doesn’t erase his bad deeds. The Ender books are so good! The first two anyway, I think you should at least give Speaker for the Dead a try

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t understand why people like Snape! He bullies schoolchildren. It’s nice he risked his life for the Order and all, but doesn’t automatically make him likable! And he risks his life because Dumbledore tells him Lily would want it. What if Lily wanted him to be a Death Eater? Then I guess he would have worked for Voldemort. That’s not a good way to make moral decisions.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I did not finish reading Twilight because I lost interest, so I suppose I agree with you there. I don’t have strong feelings about Snape one way or another – he’s a mixed character for sure. I’m not a fan of horror, but I have willingly reached for horror books once in a while (actually, I don’t feel that they are that scary – things which truly scare me are just as likely to appear in ‘non-horror’ stories as ‘horror’ stories). I also read Ender’s Game, but nothing else by Orson Scott Card. And I haven’t seen the Hobbit movies, though I read the book twice a long time ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Definitely agree with you abut Snape! I don’t dislike him that much, but I thought it was interesting to see who completely flip-flopped their opinion on him based on the last book alone. But I agree that just because he acted as a double spy and held a torch for Harry’s mom forever doesn’t forgive his actions toward Harry. This was a super interesting post! Thanks for checking out my blog, too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

