Book Reviews · Dystopian · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Science Fiction · Young Adult

Review: Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu
Published November 29th 2011 by Penguin Books Australia
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★☆

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

cover

Marie Lu is such an amazing writer, she doesn’t mess around with the language, it’s perfectly paced and she makes you get so attached to her characters! I was so engrossed and literally could not put it down. I got a little confused about the story at some points, but I didn’t really mind because something else would happen and I’d understand again.

I LOVE June and Day! A badass, intelligent female protagonist? And a beautiful, witty wanted criminal? Yes. Just yes. Although, I didn’t really feel like they were their age since both were waaay too smart and influential for 15-year-olds, maybe if they had been 18 or 19, it would’ve made more sense. Additionally, I though their relationship wasn’t properly developed, I didn’t really like the pace of it and I felt it was too deep too fast, you know what I mean?

But you know what I found really incredible? Those fight scenes. Marie is so talented when it comes to them, they’re perfectly paced and not confusing at all!

 

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORMarie Lu

I write young adult novels, and have a special love for dystopian books. Ironically, I was born in 1984. Before becoming a full-time writer, I was an Art Director at a video game company. Now I shuffle around at home and talk to myself a lot. 🙂

I graduated from the University of Southern California in ’06 and currently live in LA, where I spend my time stuck on the freeways.

3 thoughts on “Review: Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

  1. Hi, Shanayah! I totally agree with you – Marie is such a talented author, and the descriptions of her fight scene are so clear; it made me feel like I was living vicariously through June and Day! Anyway, thank you for stopping by my blog, and liking my review of “Yes Please.” I’m glad you found it helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

