Book Reviews · Fiction · Romance

Review: A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester

A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester
Published April 26, 2016 by Hachette Australia
RRP AUD $29.99
 ★★★★

If you loved The Paris Wife and Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, you will devour this deliciously evocative love story of a small-town girl with big ambitions in 1920s New York

It’s the roaring twenties in the Manhattan of gin, jazz and prosperity. Women wear makeup and hitched hemlines and enjoy a new freedom to vote and work. Not so for Evelyn Lockhart, who is forbidden from pursuing her passion to become one of the first female doctors. Chasing her dream will mean turning her back on her family: her competitive sister, Viola; her conservative parents; and the childhood best friend she is expected to marry, Charlie.

In a desperate attempt to support herself through Columbia University’s medical school, Evie auditions for the infamous late-night Ziegfeld Follies on Broadway. But if she gets the part, what will it mean for her fledgling relationship with Upper East Side banker Thomas Whitman – a man Evie thinks she could fall in love with, if only she lived a life less scandalous . . .

Captivating, romantic and tragic, A KISS FROM MR FITZGERALD follows a young woman ahead of her time amid the fragile hearts and glamour of Jazz Age New York.

 

I absolutely loved it! Whenever I opened the book I felt as if I’d been transported into another era, it was definitely the cat’s pajamas! Natasha Lester is such an amazing author, she definitely knows how to capture your attention and makes you wish you really knew the characters. Evie is such a lovely protagonist, I really feel for her. I loved her determination and adored her for always thinking of others, and sacrificing so much in the process.
The plot is beautifully written, a strong, determined woman wanting to make a difference in a time where men dominate most professional fields. I could definitely feel Evie’s frustrations! With a hint of romance and mystery. For most of the book I was so sure I knew who it was, but then I wasn’t so sure anymore.
If Natasha decides to write another book, even if it’s not part of the same universe, I’ll definitely be reading it!
 DSC_1201
I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
BuyFrom_purple_delivery
Untitled-1

ABOUT THE AUTHORNatasha Lester

It took me a while to do something about the dream I’d always had of being a writer. But when I finally quit my job as a Brand Manager for Maybelline Cosmetics and went back to uni to study creative writing, lots of things happened which made me believe I’d taken the right step. The first piece of writing I ever sent off to a journal for publication – a poem – was accepted. It was the best $100 I’d ever earned. This is easy, I remember thinking!

Of course, it wasn’t always that easy. But I was lucky enough to win the TAG Hungerford Award for Fiction and thus receive a publishing contract for my first book, What is Left Over, After. My second book, If I Should Lose You, was published in 2012.

In between all that, I’ve had three children. Nowadays I write while the kids are sleeping, which is, of course, never for long enough.

6 thoughts on “Review: A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester

  1. YES. This sounds so perfect. I love reading about this time period, and it sounds like this author found a really interesting situation to explore based in that time. Excellent review, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

