Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
September 16th 2014 by Walker Books Australia
RRP AUD $17.99
★★★★★

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

 

 

I loved this book. The way I’ll Give You The Sun was written was relatively unusual, with the POVs switching between 13-year-old Noah and 16-year-old Jude, but I found it worked well, as the reader, I could see the different feelings and actions of each twin and helped me understand them and their relationship better. Jandy is such an incredibly talented author, the way she could flawlessly write two very different narration styles for the same story, I was never confused about who was narrating.

I loved how art played such a big role in the book, and although I’m far from an artist, I found myself opening up and understanding the huge impact art had on the characters’ lives. The art forms changed throughout the story and I could see the art styles changing perfectly to conform with each character’s emotions. The characters are so flawed and realistic, the way Jandy portrayed them is brilliant, I truly felt the happiness, pain and anguish when the characters did.

I’ll Give You The Sun twisted all the right heartstrings and left me wanting more, all in all a stunning read.

 

 

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORImage result for jandy nelson

Jandy Nelson, like her characters in I’ll Give You the Sun and The Sky is Everywhere, comes from a superstitious lot. She was tutored from a young age in the art of the four-leaf clover hunt; she knocks wood, throws salt, and carries charms in her pockets. Her critically-acclaimed, New York Times bestselling second novel, I’ll Give You the Sun, received the prestigious Printz Award, Bank Street’s Josette Frank Award, and is a Stonewall Book Award honor. Both Sun and her debut, The Sky Is Everywhere, have been YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults picks (Sun, a Top Ten on Both YALSA and Rainbow Lists) and on multiple best of the year lists including the New York Times, Time Magazine, NPR, have earned many starred reviews, and continue to enjoy great international success, collectively published in over 47 countries. I’ll Give You the Sun has been sold to Warner Brothers and screenwriter Natalie Krinsky is currently writing the adaptation. Jandy, a literary agent for many years, received a BA from Cornell University and MFAs in Poetry and Children’s Writing from Brown University and Vermont College of Fine Arts. Currently a full-time writer, she lives and writes in San Francisco, California—not far from the settings of her novels.

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s