Anticipated Reads · Bookish Extras

Anticipated Reads: May 2016

It’s May 1, you know what that means! Yes! An Anticipated Reads list!

 

7. Ruined (Ruined, #1) by Amy Tintera
May 3, 2016

The only reason why Ruined isn’t higher up on my list is because I was lucky enough to receive an ARC and I couldn’t help myself. It’s FLAWLESS.

img_5702

Em is a princess out for revenge as she infiltrates the ruling kingdom’s royal family by pretending to be Prince Casimir’s bride in this outstanding YA high fantasy suitable for fans of Sarah J Maas from the author of Reboot.

Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war; her parents were killed and her sister was kidnapped. Even though Em is only a useless Ruined – completely lacking any magic – she is determined to get revenge.

Her plan is simple: She will infiltrate the enemy’s kingdom, posing as the crown prince’s betrothed. She will lead an ambush. She will kill the king and everyone he holds dear, including his son.

The closer Em gets to the prince, though, the more she questions her mission. Her rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life – and her family – on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery


7. Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee
May 24, 2016

Strong, cunning heroine? Yes, just yes.

9780399175411

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong—until disaster strikes.

On April 18, an historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. With martial law in effect, she is forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Mercy can’t sit by while they wait for the Army to bring help. Fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, yet Mercy still has the ‘bossy’ cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenaged girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?

Breakout author Stacey Lee masterfully crafts another remarkable novel set against a unique historical backdrop. Strong-willed Mercy Wong leads a cast of diverse characters in this extraordinary tale of survival.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery


6. The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
May 17, 2016

The synopsis sounds so good! I can’t wait to read it.

9780373212057_BB.indd

 

From No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout comes a riveting new story about friendship, survival and finding your voice…

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory ‘Mouse’ Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of home schooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone — spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of — that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realise that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory must make a choice between staying silent and speaking out — for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery


5. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
May 3, 2016

Absolutely love Morgan Matson’s writing style! After reading Since You’ve Been Gone I look forward to reading anything she writes.

img_5704

 

From Morgan Matson, the bestselling author of Since You’ve Been Gone comes a feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans.

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.

Future? A top-tier medical school.
Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).
Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?
Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

BuyFrom_purple_delivery


4. A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) by Sarah J. Maas
May 3, 2016

I haven’t read the first book in the series (yet), but if it’s by Sarah J. Maas it’s bound to be amazing!

img_5703

 

The stunning sequel to Sarah J. Maas’ New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

 


3. The Crown’s Game (The Crown’s Game, #1) by Evelyn Skye
May 17, 2016

There’s so much hype surrounding this book and from the synopsis I know it’ll be good.

CrownsGame-hc-c1

Perfect for fans of SHADOW AND BONE and RED QUEEN, THE CROWN’S GAME is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia about two teenagers who must compete for the right to become The Royal Enchanter … or die in the process.

Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown’s Game is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia about two teenagers who must compete for the right to become the Imperial Enchanter-or die in the process-from debut author Evelyn Skye.

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters-the only two in Russia-and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill-the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter-even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with-beautiful, whip smart, imaginative-and he can’t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery


2. The Crown (The Selection, #5) by Kiera Cass
May 3, 2016

I have to know what happened! I love Kiera Cass’ Selection world.

img_5706

Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has captured the hearts of readers from its very first page. Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet by The Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series.

In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own.

Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery


1. The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, #1)  by Rick Riordan
May 3, 2016

A series all about Apollo? Yes please.

img_5705

 

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery


 

So what do you guys think? Comment your most anticipated lists!

 

Untitled-1

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “Anticipated Reads: May 2016

  1. I can’t wait for The Crown either for the same reasons, I have to know what happens!! I also have yet to read ACOTAR, I had read and heard it was somewhat of a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Beauty and the Beast is my all time favorite Disney movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for posting your list, I am always looking for suggestions of good books to read. The Trials of Apollo sounds interesting and exciting. Also, I have been wanting to read something by Jennifer Armentrout but have not yet. The synopsis for The Problem with Forever is intriguing. Thanks for checking out my blog and reading my review on Kiera Cass’s, The Siren.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s