Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Ruined (Ruined, #1) by Amy Tintera

Ruined by Amy Tintera
Published May 3, 2016 by Allen & Unwin
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★★

Em is a princess out for revenge as she infiltrates the ruling kingdom’s royal family by pretending to be Prince Casimir’s bride in this outstanding YA high fantasy suitable for fans of Sarah J Maas from the author of Reboot.

Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war; her parents were killed and her sister was kidnapped. Even though Em is only a useless Ruined – completely lacking any magic – she is determined to get revenge.

Her plan is simple: She will infiltrate the enemy’s kingdom, posing as the crown prince’s betrothed. She will lead an ambush. She will kill the king and everyone he holds dear, including his son.

The closer Em gets to the prince, though, the more she questions her mission. Her rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life – and her family – on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

Where to begin? Ruined is absolutely amazing, I loved everything about it. As soon as I finished reading the synopsis I knew it was going to be a brilliant read. The book gets right into the story and immediately catches your interest and doesn’t let go, I didn’t want to put it down!  The whole book was beautifully written, and especially with the fight scenes, I never felt rushed or confused. Ruined is everything I look for in a YA fantasy novel, there’s an intelligent, kick-ass heroine, magic, and sass.

Emelina Flores is such an interesting heroine, she’s a survivor and she’s extremely determined and not afraid to do anything to get her way, which was partly why I immediately warmed up to her when she killed someone in cold blood 5 pages in. Em’s constant little violent thoughts and observations are oddly endearing and always made me smile, my favourite is the first sentence of chapter six, haha! Amy, if you’re reading this, I hope you keep that in the final print!

I absolutely loved everything in this book, and I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading YA fantasy. I’ll definitely be coming back for the second book!!

DSC_1125

I received an ARC through a Goodreads giveaway.

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHORAmy Tintera

I’m Amy Tintera, and I write books with action and kissing.

More specifically, I’m the author of the REBOOT duology and the RUINED trilogy, both of which feature lots of action and kissing. My books are published by HarperCollins in the US and have been translated into 15+ languages around the world.

My next book, AVENGED (Ruined #2), will be published on May 2, 2017. 

4 thoughts on “Review: Ruined (Ruined, #1) by Amy Tintera

Leave a Reply

