Book Reviews · Fiction · Science Fiction

Review: Admiral (Evagardian, #1) by Sean Danker

Admiral by Sean Danker
Published May 3, 2016 by Penguin Group USA
RRP AUD $44.99
★★★★

FIRST IN A NEW MILITARY SCIENCE FICTION SERIES

“I was on a dead ship on an unknown planet with three trainees freshly graduated into the Imperial Service. I tried to look on the bright side.”

He is the last to wake. The label on his sleeper pad identifies him as an admiral of the Evagardian Empire—a surprise as much to him as to the three recent recruits now under his command. He wears no uniform, and he is ignorant of military protocol, but the ship’s records confirm he is their superior officer.

Whether he is an Evagardian admiral or a spy will be of little consequence if the crew members all end up dead. They are marooned on a strange world, their ship’s systems are failing one by one—and they are not alone.

 

admiral-cover

Admiral gets right into the story, which I thought would make it difficult to understand, but the way Sean Danker has written it makes it very easy to catch on. The storyline itself is brilliant and highly gripping, 50 pages in and I was already hooked! The story definitely keeps you on your toes.

Although we don’t really get to know the characters very well, I still loved them! The characters were sassy and snarky at the right times, Salmagard is my favourite J. I really enjoyed the budding friendships between the Admiral and the crew members, I thought it was a nice touch to the suspenseful story. It was odd, not knowing the identity of the character who was narrating, but I found I quite liked it and kept trying to figure out who he really was, but I didn’t really have much to go on.

In the end, the story wraps up nicely, with everything making sense in the last chapter, although I felt the ending was a bit rushed and was a bit unsatisfied. But that just means I‘ll definitely come back for the second instalment.

 

I received an ARC of the book from Penguin Random House’s First to Read digital program

 

 

 

BuyFrom_purple_delivery

 

Untitled-1


ABOUT THE AUTHOR13769460_10208591500256645_8307237884825674944_n

Sean Danker hates everything, especially author bios.

Can you believe he used to be in the military? He doesn’t seem like the type.

There’s twitter and facebook and even goodreads.

If that’s what you’re into.

6 thoughts on “Review: Admiral (Evagardian, #1) by Sean Danker

  1. Interesting. I’ve never heard of this author and I’m fairly familiar with most/many military sci fi writers. Is this part of a series? Does he have many books to his credit? Perhaps I’ll look him up. It sounds like something that might interest me. Perhaps. I tend to go for a little more action, but this holds some promise. Thanks for the review and for alerting me to a different military sci fi author. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Admiral is the first in the Evagardian series, I’m not too sure whether he has written any other novels, but I don’t think so. I do recommend this book if you enjoy sci fi, it definitely kept me on the edge of my seat. If you decide to give it a go, let me know what you think!

      Like

      1. Thanks for the info. It sounds intriguing enough for me to read so I’ll probably get it. But it’ll be a long time before I read it. Right now, I’m in the middle of reading 17 books, which is a few too many. Normally I only read about 6 at one time. So it’s slowing me down. Also, I have a stack of 55 books waiting to be read and I would I have to read those first. I typically read books in order of acquisition. But hopefully I’ll eventually get to it and hopefully I’ll like it. It’ll just take 2-3 months. Thanks again. Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

