Blog Tours · Bookish Extras

Blog Tour|Excerpt: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford

The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford
Published December 27th 2017 by Pan Macmillan
RRP AUD $18.99

Sixteen-year-old Harper was once a rising star on the tennis court—until her coach dropped her for being “mentally weak.” Without tennis, who is she? Her confidence at an all-time low, she secretly turns to her childhood friend, next-door neighbor Jacob—who also happens to be her sister’s very recent ex-boyfriend. If her sister finds out, it will mean a family war.

But when Harper is taken on by a new coach who wants her to train with Colt, a cold, defensive, brooding young tennis phenom, she hits the court all the harder, if only to prove Colt wrong. But as the two learn to become a team, Harper gets glimpses of the vulnerable boy beneath the surface, the boy who was deeply scarred by his family’s dark and scandalous past. The boy she could easily find herself falling for.

As she walks a fine line between Colt’s secrets, her forbidden love, and a game that demands nothing but the best, Harper must decide between her past and her future and between two boys who send her head spinning. Is the cost of winning the game is worth losing everything?

A sizzling tennis romance perfect for the summer months, The Harper Effect, will be a grand slam for fans of Kasie West, Miranda Kinneally and Simone Ekeles.

Continue reading “Blog Tour|Excerpt: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford”

Book Reviews · Fantasy · Fiction · Young Adult

Review: The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1) by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1) by Rin Chupeco
Published March 7th 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★

The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.

Continue reading “Review: The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1) by Rin Chupeco”

Bookish Extras

End of Year Book Survey: 2017 ♡

I got the idea for this from the wonderful, Perpetual Page Turner blog! Check out her post here 🙂

 

2017 reading stats

Number Of Books You Read: 75
Number of Re-Reads: 2
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy

Continue reading “End of Year Book Survey: 2017 ♡”

Anticipated Reads · Bookish Extras

Anticipated Reads: December 2017

Time has flown by so fast omg! Another year of brilliant books coming to an end, how are your Goodreads challenges going?

I’ve been stuck in a pretty deep reading slump, but I’m hoping to get back into it and complete my challenge!

Continue reading “Anticipated Reads: December 2017”

Book Reviews · Children's · Fantasy · Fiction · Young Adult

Review: The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan

The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan
Published May 2nd 2017 by Puffin
RRP AUD $22.99
★★★★☆

The god Apollo, cast down to earth and trapped in the form of a gawky teenage boy as punishment, must set off on the second of his harrowing (and hilarious) trials.

He and his companions seek the ancient oracles – restoring them is the only way for Apollo to reclaim his place on Mount Olympus – but this is easier said than done.

Somewhere in the American Midwest is a haunted cave that may hold answers for Apollo in his quest to become a god again . . . if it doesn’t kill him or drive him insane first. Standing in Apollo’s way is the second member of the evil Triumvirate – a Roman emperor whose love of bloodshed and spectacle makes even Nero look tame.

To survive the encounter, Apollo will need the help of a now-mortal goddess, a bronze dragon, and some familiar demigod faces from Camp Half-Blood. With them by his side, can Apollo face down the greatest challenge of his four thousand years of existence?

Continue reading “Review: The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard
Published 9th February, 2016 by Macmillan Children’s Books
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★

I was brave
She was reckless
We were trouble

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie – confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realises, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

Continue reading “Review: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard”

Book Reviews · Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Review: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
Published 26th April, 2017 by Swoon Reads
RRP AUD $16.99
★★★★☆

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Continue reading “Review: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde”